POWER SECTION: CPYC State Prize Night Dinner – 22 September 2017

CPYC State Prize Night Dinner and the Official Close of the Strudel Hunting Season

Claremont Yacht Club hosted the Coffee Point Marine Services 2017 CPYC State Time Trialling Championship Prize Night dinner on Friday night.  On behalf of the CPYC committee, Chair Troy Dalglish welcomed guests and thanked the sponsors, Coffee Point Marine Services (Doug Smith) Corica Pastries (CYC Commodore David Bovell) and Nsigns (SoPYC PC Guy Skinner) and all the participants, volunteers and clubs for their support throughout the year.

The evening was billed as “CPYC unites Swan River Clubs” and it lived up to its claim with representatives from Swan Yacht Club, Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club, Royal Perth Yacht Club, South of Perth Yacht Club and of course the host Claremont Yacht Club, and even a Captain of Sailing! (RPYC)  CPYC is delighted to see the resurgence of RPYC and RFBYC and hopes next year to get Perth Flying Squadron Yacht Club involved again.

Before introducing YWA President Mark Fitzhardinge and presenting the trophies for the evening, Troy presented more of the inaugural 25 Year certificates and pins honouring members who have contributed 25 years or more of service to the sport of Time Trialling, either as a participant or in a support role behind the scenes.  Among those honoured this evening were SoPYC’s Tracy Leveridge Smith and Anthony Smith.

Tracy LS

South of Perth Yacht Club’s Brian Smith was named this year’s WA Power Yacht Person of the Year.  Tina Smith was thanked for her assistance with this evening’s event.

IMG_2402 IMG_2409
Brian Smith – Power Yacht Person of the Year       Tina Smith

Starters: Garry Morrison, PC Frank & Barbara Dalglish, Marg & PC Maurice Cooper 

The winning team in the State Teams Event was South of Perth Yacht Club with a score of 51.75 points.  Second was Claremont Yacht Club on 169 points and third was Royal Perth Yacht Club on 237.5 points.  This is the 21st year in succession the SoPYC has taken out the State Team Event!
Commodore Phil Warwick proudly accepted the trophy on behalf of SoPYC Winning Contributing Boats

The 2017 Bob Stanford Memorial Trophy for least points lost over five events was won by Sunhunter, Skipper: Brett Morrison; Navigator: Dilana Ramirez with the loss of only 34 points followed closely by Dalusional with 38 points and Amazon with 40.


The Graham Cerini Award for Best First Year Skipper went to RPYC’s Gary Smith.  Perhaps now he will find a moniker for No Name.

Best First Year Skipper: Gary Smith

SoPYC took out State Champion; first; second and third in the 2017 Championship Trophy Best Boat under CPYC Championship Scoring System with Sunhunter on 7.2 points; Amazon on 8.85 points and Dalusional on 19.725 points.

State Champion Sunhunter, Navigator: Dilana Ramirez; Skipper: Brett Morrison

2017 Consistency Trophy Best Boat on Handicap saw Amazon take First Place on 54.05 points, ahead of No Name second on a countback 56 points from Utopia third on 56 points.


Mark Fitzhardinge presents the Consistency Trophy to Amazon: SKIPPER Steve Wall NAVIGATOR Amanda Watson

Rounding out the evening, Championship Heat Winners and Consistency Heat Winners Skippers and Navigators were presented with vouchers.  Congratulations to:

Championship Heat Winners:

Heat 1: Thanet on 6 points.  Skipper: Guy Skinner; Richard Evans
Heat 2: Amazon on 7 points.  Skipper: Steve Wall; Navigator: Amanda Watson
Heat 3: Sunhunter on 7 points.  Skipper: Brett Morrison; Navigator: Dilana Ramirez
Heat 4: Amazon on 3 points.  Skipper: Steve Wall; Navigator: Amanda Watson
Heat 5: Sunhunter on 4 points.  Skipper: Brett Morrison; Navigator: Dilana Ramirez

three pics


Once again Claremont Yacht Club put on a first-class evening and an excellent meal.  Entertainment by the Murphy Brothers was subdued during the meal with the tempo increasing later as dancers took to the floor.  Thanks to Bernie Kaaks for the Powerpoint presentation featuring action shots of the State Heats – a great backdrop that had guests checking to see their boat on the screen.

Interesting Fact #21
This evening was the official close of the 2017 Strudel Hunting Season.  Well done to this year’s champions, Brett and Dilana on bagging the biggest swag of those elusive strudels!

IMAG1145_1 IMG_2406
Thanks to Nsigns Guy Skinner and Katie Burke for the Tee-shirts and the inspiration

Power Scribe